What is Porridge Oats (Oat Meal)?

  • Oatmeal is a type of cereal grain, often referred to as porridge oats. They're also often included in muffins, granola bars, cookies, and other baked goods. Bottom Line: Oats are a whole grain that is commonly eaten for breakfast as oatmeal (porridge).
  • Oatmeal or porridge oats are not categorically known to contain Gluten, however, the issue is that sometimes oats are produced in the same place as wheat, barley, and rye, and then become contaminated with these other grains which are known to contain Gluten. Only oats labeled gluten-free may be eaten by people following a gluten-free diet. Oats contain avenin, which is a protein similar to gluten.
  • An intolerance to oatmeal or porridge oats may be due to the protein found in this cereal grain, or where there is an inflamed gut. The high fiber content of this cereal grain may be abrasive to some. 
  • Not to be confused with shop-bought oat flour, or oat milk, which both entail a different refining process and as identified with our type of testing.