What is Brie, (cheese)?

  • Brie is an off-white, soft-ripened cheese, usually made from cow's milk. 
  • Brie cheese contains around 0-2% lactose. 
  • Brie cheese goes through a lactic fermentation process and certain types of bacteria such as Penicillium roqueforti and P. camemberti are used in the process. 
  • Having an intolerance to this item may be due to an imbalanced gut biome, yeast and fungi, or an inflamed gut.